fresh start

I’ve been on a hiatus of sorts from many things, one of which you may (or may not!) have noticed, this blog.  It’s been so long, and there are so many things I want to share, like my STELLAR weekend in the Big Island where yesterday I experienced the most beautiful hike of my life at Pololu Valley…. I’ll share some pictures instead because what this post is really about is – getting back into TOP SHAPE!! 

Hiking down the Pololu Trail to the black sand beach was amazing!

I was talking with a friend this morning about how quickly things can slip away from you but when you look back, the progression of that loss is a slow, building process that you only fully realize in reflection.

Some of the things i’d find routine suddenly seem so foreign in my current day to day life!  Most notably lacking are simple things, such as a mostly healthy diet, weight training … I’m usually a person of routine so getting back into a balanced, healthy lifestyle I knew would require a regimen, guidance and support. 

A couple of weeks ago someone on Yelp posted the 30 Day Top Shape Challenge at the Honolulu Club.  Immediately intrigued, I looked into the program a bit more and decided to give it a go – my morning workout buddy Jenn is joining me in the challenge as well so I knew we would both motivate each other to see this thing through!

So far, i’m only familiar with a few of the program basics (today was day one) which entail:

-a daily class (one hour) – we chose the 6 am class, which takes place at the Honolulu Club.  This was my first time visiting their facility and let me tell you, a HUGE departure from some of my regular gyms.  So nice and clean!

– a nutritional guideline – this gives you a basic outline of four nutrition groups (protien, good fat, minerals & vitamins and slow carbs) and which combination and times you should consume them.  For women, the approximate calorie consumption is 1500 per day.

This morning’s class involved a series of exercises focused on posture, form and core-strength with a bit of cardio toward the end.  Overall, I found the routine to be on the fairly simple side but there are people in the program at all different levels of fitness so I think this introductory session was geared toward gauging the ability and format for our particular group (there are two other groups each day- one at noon and one at 6 pm).

I already feel like a naughty student, my homework was to take measurements and pictures before today’s class (I’ll do it tonight, I promise!) – a good suggestion was to blog daily about my experience in the challenge, which Jenn and I will attempt to do as well… we’ll keep you posted! 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to fresh start

  1. JLieu says:

    WOW you are SO on it! 🙂 I am going to write tonight!! You are such an inspiration!

  2. augustophoto says:

    Unless you’re trying to lose weight, 1500 seems a little on the low side especially for someone like you who has an active lifestyle. But I’m sure you’ll figure out your ideal intake as you progress in this program. Much luck on your new physical endeavor.

  3. Pingback: Fresh Start by Kyle – One of our Top Shapers « 30topshape

  4. Allie says:

    Kyle, you have nothing to lose! Physically, I mean. But good luck, I know you’ll see it through 🙂

Leave a Reply

