Special Delivery

After reading Sara’s (Nubcakes) post last month about the package she received from her “Foodie Penpal”, I was intrigued. Receiving random hand-picked goodies from a complete stranger somewhere across the ocean?! Sign me up!

After some quick reading, I discovered the idea originated and was perpetuated through Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean just over a year ago and currently has over 1000 blogger and reader participants!

The guidelines are simple, at the beginning of the month, Lindsay assigns the pals (the giver and recipients are different), your price limit is $15 total per package and it must be sent by the 15th of the month.  Ready, set, shop!

I had a really good time putting together the box for my penpal recipient although I must say, food dollars stretch MUCH further on the  mainland than it does here.  My penpal had gluten and dairy allergies, which made making the box a bit more challenging, but it was like a scavenger hunt!

When I checked my mailbox and found that my box had arrived from my Penpal, Becky at This Bountiful Backyard I was beyond excited to tear it open and see what she chose for me from Chicago!

Image

The requisite popcorn!  I visited Chicago last year and when I tell you these people know their popcorn, it is serious!  The bag she sent me was from a vendor that sells at her local farmer’s market and was a delicious treat while watching The Hunger Games this weekend.

Image

She also included other local finds – Honey from a local beekeeper, some great goodies from my favorite place, Trader Joe’s (Gum and pink Himalayan Salt), and best of all – some delicious treats from her own kitchen:

Homemade Raisins and Peanuts Granola
http://thisbountifulbackyard.com/2012/07/04/homemade-granola/

Image

This was SO DELICIOUS. After seeing her recipe, I think I could actually make it – but it always tastes better when someone else makes it for you, right?

Her homemade Peach Pie Jam

http://thisbountifulbackyard.com/2012/07/16/peach-pie-jam/

Are you as amazed as I am that this woman just had a baby, is also caring for a toddler, blogs frequently about all of the growing, gardening, preserving, cooking and DIY-ing she does and still found time to put together such a thoughtful package to send to me?  I feel so special.

Thanks again Becky and I look forward to next month’s special delivery!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Special Delivery

  1. May Liu says:

    Wow what a great idea!! I’m going to check that out for sure! She’s so lucky to have you as a penpal!!!

    • kyleepuu says:

      I think it would be so fun for you! Except whomever gets you has to make sure they shop very carefully! It would be cool though to see what they’d find for a CKD-er!

  2. shama says:

    Love it! I’m signed up for next month!!! Can’t wait to see what will arrive!

  3. sarakata says:

    Seriously, right? I feel like such a lazy bum when I read about how much everyone else is doing! 😀 I need to up my game! Hehehe.

  4. JLieu says:

    Whoa that is SO cool! I love this post and im reading her blog right now! Thanks for sharing! I love how there was a pretty card wrapped up! nice! 😉

  5. Pingback: Foodie Penpals: Special Delivery | This Bountiful Backyard

  6. Pingback: October 1st, 2012 – Foodie Penpal « THE DAILY MAYNIA

Leave a Reply

